
Ichinomata Onsen Day Use: Grand Hotel vs Kanko Hotel
Compare Ichinomata Grand and Kanko Hotel by price, sauna and rest space; Kanko day bathing resumed September 24, 2026.
The two day-use baths are close together, but differ in opening hours, sauna access and rest facilities. Grand Hotel’s water treatment is also described more fully than Kanko Hotel’s.
One current detail changes the planning picture: Kanko Hotel announced that day-use bathing resumed on September 24, 2026, after a temporary suspension the previous day. That confirms the service had reopened when checked, but a maintenance issue can still interrupt a rural day trip. Check the latest notice before setting out.
The differences at a glance
| Ichinomata Grand Hotel | Ichinomata Kanko Hotel | |
|---|---|---|
| Adult day-use admission | ¥1,150 | ¥900 |
| Child admission | ¥600 for ages 3 through elementary school | ¥550 for elementary-school children; ¥550 for ages 3 and up |
| Usual day-use hours | 8:00am–9:00pm; last reception 8:00pm | 9:00am–9:00pm; last reception 8:00pm |
| Saturdays, holidays and busy periods | Usually 8:00am–5:00pm; last reception 4:00pm | Check the current monthly calendar and notices |
| Facilities clearly listed for day visitors | Indoor and outdoor baths; sauna | Indoor and outdoor baths; rest area and snack counter |
| Private bath | ¥2,000 per hour, plus each visitor’s admission; reservation required | ¥2,000 per hour, plus each visitor’s admission; confirm day-use availability |
| Water details | Alkaline simple sulfur spring, around pH 10; filtered and recirculated | Alkaline simple sulfur spring, pH 10.0; treatment details are not specified on the day-use page |
The ¥250 difference is small enough that the day’s timing and the facilities you will use matter more. Grand Hotel is the better fit for an early soak or a sauna; Kanko Hotel costs less if a bath and a place to rest are all you need.
Grand Hotel: earlier start, sauna and a shorter weekend window

| Grand Hotel day-use details | Current terms |
|---|---|
| Ordinary hours | 8:00 a.m.–9:00 p.m.; last reception 8:00 p.m. |
| Saturdays, public holidays, Golden Week, Obon and year-end/New Year | Usually closes at 5:00 p.m.; last reception 4:00 p.m. |
| Admission | Adults ¥1,150; children aged three through elementary-school age ¥600 |
| Towel | ¥100 |
| Facilities | Indoor and outdoor baths, sauna; shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap and hairdryers provided |
Group bookings and maintenance can change the schedule, so use the hotel calendar for your date. Grand Hotel confirms a sauna for day visitors; Kanko Hotel’s day-use page does not list one.
The family baths are named Honoka, with a cypress tub, and Yunoka, with a stone tub. They cost ¥2,000 for one hour, require a reservation and are available to day visitors with the regular admission fee charged separately. Two adults therefore pay at least ¥4,300 before towels. Call ahead if the private bath is essential; a posted rate is not a guarantee of a slot.
Grand Hotel’s spring is an alkaline simple sulfur spring at around pH 10. The hotel explicitly says its water uses a filtered-circulation system. “Natural hot spring” and “free-flowing from the source” are not the same claim, so do not read the spring classification as evidence of kakenagashi.
Kanko Hotel: lower admission and a place to sit after bathing

Kanko Hotel charges ¥900 for adults aged 13 and up. Elementary-school children and children aged three or older pay ¥550. The listed day-use period is 9:00am–9:00pm, with last reception at 8:00pm. Its bathing area includes indoor and open-air baths; a rest space called Shika and a small snack counter, Hitoiki, give you somewhere to sit after changing.
The ¥2,000 private family bath is charged by the hour on top of admission. The hotel describes it as a large bath with a window that can be opened for an outdoor-bath feel. Since the current information is clearer about guest use than day-use booking slots, check directly that a private bath is available to day visitors on your date.
Kanko Hotel also lists an alkaline simple sulfur spring, pH 10.0. Its public information does not specify filtration or circulation for the day-use baths. That is a missing detail, not evidence that its water is untreated or source-flowing. The hotel’s page mentions a sauna at the nearby sister property, Grand Hotel, as a benefit for overnight guests; do not assume that amenity is included in a day-use visit to Kanko.
Kanko Hotel’s homepage posted a day-use reopening notice on September 24, 2026, following a suspension on September 23. The usual hours and prices remain a useful planning baseline, but check current notices close to your visit. For any private-bath request, call before driving out.
Getting there: plan for a car or a confirmed ride
Ichinomata is in the mountains of Toyota Town, Shimonoseki. Grand Hotel lists free parking for 50 cars. Its directions warn drivers against approaching north on Route 491 from the Narazaki intersection in Kikugawa or south from the Shin-Daibo intersection in Yuya; those stretches narrow and are described as dangerous. The hotel directs drivers through the Mino and Toyoda routes, depending on their starting point.
Kanko Hotel gives a similar warning about Route 491 from Ozuki IC and directs visitors through the Toyoda area and Roadside Station Nishi-no-Ichi.
Grand Hotel’s free shuttle from JR Ozuki Station is for overnight guests and must be booked in advance. It is not a day-use transfer. Kanko Hotel lists free group transport for reserved banquet plans with at least 15 people, which is not a practical solo-visitor shuttle.
The hotels’ current pages do not clearly lay out public transport for independent day visitors. Without a car, confirm a complete outbound and return plan with the hotel or arrange a taxi before travelling.
Ichinomata is a poor place to improvise a late return. Grand Hotel may close earlier on weekends and holidays, and both hotels sit away from a station. If you are already exploring central Shimonoseki, the city’s day-use baths and sento are easier to combine with rail travel. For a mountain onsen with a different bathing format, compare Machi no Yu and Hakuen no Yu in Tawarayama, or use the Tawarayama day-bath overview to decide whether to stay in that valley.
Which hotel should you choose?
Pick Grand Hotel if you want a morning visit, plan to use the sauna, or need the better-documented bathing setup. On a Saturday or holiday, arrive well before the 4:00pm last reception rather than relying on the longer weekday schedule.
Choose Kanko Hotel if the ¥250 saving matters more than the sauna and you want a rest area after bathing. Its usual evening hours give it a longer window than Grand Hotel on many busy days, but the monthly calendar and any day-use suspension notices take precedence over the standard schedule.
If you are comparing other Yamaguchi options, the Kiwado Onsen Exchange Center and Nagato Yumoto’s Onto have their own day-use formats. Those are separate destinations, not nearby walkable alternatives to Ichinomata. For a broader route, the Suo-Oshima no-car onsen plan and Suo-Oshima onsen guide cover a different coastal area; they are useful comparisons only if your trip already heads that way.
Sources
- [Ichinomata Grand Hotel: day-use bathing, family baths, hours and prices](https://ichinomata.co.jp/grand/spa/) - [Ichinomata Grand Hotel: FAQ — circulation, spring type, sauna and overnight-guest shuttle](https://ichinomata.co.jp/grand/news/3141/) - [Ichinomata Grand Hotel: access and restricted Route 491 approaches](https://ichinomata.co.jp/grand/access/) - [Ichinomata Kanko Hotel: day-use admission, facilities and spring analysis](https://ichinomata.co.jp/kankou/spa/) - [Ichinomata Kanko Hotel: access guidance](https://ichinomata.co.jp/kankou/access/) - [Ichinomata Kanko Hotel: latest notices, including the September 24, 2026 day-use reopening notice](https://ichinomata.co.jp/kankou/news/) - Photos: Ichinomata Grand Hotel and Ichinomata Kanko Hotel official websites.Checked: September 28, 2026.
