awa awa KOBE vs Kobe Minato Onsen Ren: Which Day Spa Fits Your Kobe Plans?
Comparisons

awa awa KOBE vs Kobe Minato Onsen Ren: Which Day Spa Fits Your Kobe Plans?

Compare awa awa KOBE and Kobe Minato Onsen Ren by 2026 prices, child and tattoo rules, spring source, towels, private saunas and access from Sannomiya.

For a short bath near HAT Kobe, awa awa KOBE costs less and admits children. Kobe Minato Onsen Ren suits an adults-only visit near Sannomiya, with a 6 a.m. opening, towels and loungewear included, and a separate private tent sauna. The side-by-side table below gives the standard adult admission rates.

The short version

Pick awa awa if you are already around the Hyogo Prefectural Museum of Art, the Disaster Reduction and Human Renovation Institution or the HAT Kobe waterfront. Its regular bath ticket includes the public bath and sauna; children can enter, and a towel set costs ¥330 extra. The Hanshin Kasuganomichi Station walk is about 10 minutes.

Ren is better suited to an adults-only half day. Its day-use baths open at 6 a.m., towels, loungewear and amenities are supplied, and one drink is included. A free shuttle runs from Sannomiya. Day-use guests must be at least 12, so families with younger children should rule it out before comparing prices.

awa awa KOBEKobe Minato Onsen Ren
Adult admission¥1,000 weekdays; ¥1,200 weekends/holidays¥2,715 weekdays; ¥3,155 weekends/holidays
Bathing hours10 a.m.–midnight; last entry 11 p.m.6 a.m.–midnight
What comes with entryBath and public sauna; towel set ¥330Bath, towels, loungewear, amenities and one drink
Day-use ageChildren may enter with an adult; see child rules below12 and older only
Best location matchHAT Kobe and the waterfront museumsSannomiya, Shinko-cho and central Kobe
Spring details752 m well; 35.2°C source, heated to 42°C in the outdoor rock bath1,150 m well; 35.0°C source, 323.5 L/min; only the named first-floor outdoor bath is confirmed as free-flowing
Private sauna90 minutes, swimsuit required, up to six; ¥8,500 per person weekdays / ¥9,500 weekends and holidays; extra guests cost moreOCEANS SAUNA by REN: two hours for up to four, ¥16,500 including tax; day-use admission is extra
Tattoo cover exceptionSpecified 13 × 19 cm cover seal; the published page does not state a sticker-count limitFashion tattoos only, fully covered by up to four paid 11.4 × 20 cm stickers; confirm because the fee page also gives a general refusal

Ren charges a separate ¥75 bathing tax on top of the listed admission. It also advertises ¥500 off for arrivals between 6 and 8 a.m.; the promotion page gives no end date. Its holiday-period rates are higher, so check the fee page for your date.

Paying more at Ren buys a longer visit, not simply a hotter bath

At awa awa, admission covers the public baths and sauna. Shampoo, conditioner and body wash are provided; the towel set costs extra. It is an easy add-on after sightseeing if you are already in HAT Kobe.

Ren includes towels, loungewear, bath amenities and one drink. Those inclusions help offset the higher entry cost if you plan to bathe, eat and rest for several hours; for a quick soak, awa awa is the simpler-value option.

The morning offer lowers Ren’s admission by ¥500 for entry from 6 to 8 a.m. It does not change the separate bathing tax and is not an all-day rate.

Private sauna: check the booking and total cost

Both facilities charge separately for private sauna bookings. awa awa’s swimsuit-required session includes a self-loyly sauna, deep cold bath, outdoor cooling area and access to its second-floor public bath. The listed price is per person; extra guests and swimsuit rental cost more.

Ren’s OCEANS SAUNA by REN is a two-hour tent-sauna session for up to four. Day visitors also need regular spa admission. The booking page assigns set session times; children under 12 cannot use the sauna, and guests aged 12 or older need a guardian.

Family and tattoo rules are not interchangeable

awa awa charges ¥600 for elementary-school children and admits preschool children free. Children cannot bathe alone, and children of different sexes may not share a bath from elementary-school age onward. Ren’s day-use policy excludes anyone under 12.

Ren’s tattoo policy is inconsistent across its official pages. The FAQ allows fashion tattoos fully covered by up to four paid 11.4 × 20 cm stickers, while the fee page says all tattooed guests are refused. Confirm directly with Ren before travelling if this applies to you.

awa awa may admit guests whose tattoos are fully covered by its 13 × 19 cm seal. Its spa page does not state how many seals are allowed.

Which side of Kobe are you visiting?

awa awa is in HAT Kobe, about a 10-minute walk from Hanshin Kasuganomichi Station. From Sannomiya, Kobe City Bus route 101 stops at Nisseki Byoin-mae. Ren is in Shinko-cho and offers a free Sannomiya shuttle; it also lists nearby bus stops. For a day centred on the waterfront museums, crossing town to reach Ren adds little. If you are staying around Sannomiya or Motomachi and want to bathe before breakfast, Ren fits more naturally.

If Ren is not the right match, compare awa awa with Tsuki-no-Yufune in western Kobe or Uhara-no-Yu in Higashinada. Those pairings turn on different things: lower-temperature bathing and car access at Tsuki-no-Yufune, or Uhara’s early opening and bedrock-bath option.

For an adult weekday visit, awa awa remains the lower-cost option even after adding a towel set. Ren costs more, but includes towels, loungewear, amenities and a drink; the early-entry offer narrows the gap for morning visitors. The table lists standard rates, so check Ren’s fee page for holiday pricing and whether the offer is still running.

Sources and date checked Checked: September 27, 2026. - [awa awa KOBE: spa prices, hours, rules and private sauna](https://awaawa-kobe.jp/spa/) - [awa awa KOBE official site and access information](https://awaawa-kobe.jp/) - [Kobe Minato Onsen Ren: day-use fees and hours](https://ren-onsen.jp/day_use/fee/) - [Ren: day-use FAQ, age and tattoo rules](https://ren-onsen.jp/faq/day-use/) - [Ren: 6–8 a.m. admission discount](https://ren-onsen.jp/event/news/) - [Ren: OCEANS SAUNA by REN](https://ren-onsen.jp/day_use/plan/oceans_sauna_by_ren/)